Mending Sole Mates

 

 

“Mending really matters, whether it’s a broken heart or a pair of slippers.” 

Karen Ellis / Blogger & Mender of Things

When RUDE Girl’s daughter, Beck,  visited the other day, she commented that my fabric slippies are cute.  I told her the story of Jaimee, a Facebook friend [who I have never met] gifting  them to me.  And, that I had another pair, that were also made by Jaimee.  Here is the link to that story.

https://ruderecord.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/my-handmade-slippers-story/

At the time of Beck’s compliment, it reminded me that I had to mend the soles of these cute slippers, as soon as possible.  They have such sentimental value, and have been worn by me, most days, for a couple of years.

This is the second time they have been mended.  The first time the soles were replaced.  Here is the link to that blog post.

https://ruderecord.wordpress.com/2015/05/09/making-good-my-handmade-slippies/

This time the old soles have remained in place, and have been reinforced with new soles over the top of them.  The Japanese visible mending technique of boro has been used.

Below is the recent video, that explains how I continue to boro mend my favourite slippers.

Beat The Man by mending your favourite things, especially those things that have been made with love, time and effort.

https://youtu.be/aJLfW3EOokU

2 thoughts on “Mending Sole Mates

  1. Well today’s blog was very interesting. The history of your much seen house shoes/slippers. I’m really pleased you showed a little of your Boro and Sashiko technique here. It was really interesting to get the full history of the slippers. A true story of the tradition of Boro.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Jacqui. My slippers are visually symbolic of the RUDE ethos and lifestyle. I am hoping I can continue to boro mend my sole mates, and record their continuing story, for many years to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

