The Art and Craft of Reuse and Repair

Good podcasting relies on narrative and idea. Does the plot have tension, drama and surprise?  Does it have universal themes?  Ira Glass

Following on from RUDE previous post, RUDE Girl’s talk with Adam Murray of Subtle Disruptors was posted yesterday afternoon.

You can listen to the podcast here.  And please, feel free to ask RUDE Girl any questions you may have, after listening to my interview with Adam.

images Podcast

Get the popcorn, sit back and enjoy listening

 

5 thoughts on “The Art and Craft of Reuse and Repair

    • Good to read that you, like me, are over perfect. I do like to do things well, and from your blog, I gather you do too. I prefer to think of the oxymoron, ‘perfect imperfection’ when I am re-creating.

      Like

  1. This is the comment that I, RUDE Girl left on Subtle Disruptors as follows:

    Karen Ellis Reply August 7, 2016 at 8:56 pm

    Hi Adam

    It was inspiring to read your preamble to the podcast. And, it was really nice to revisit our interview this afternoon. Danny and I have not been well [the dreaded lurgy that Danny bought home from work] Therefore, feeling a bit out of sorts, it was really relaxing for us, to sit down together and listen to the podcast. Danny commented that you have a voice that is easy to listen to, and that your microphone set up produced an easy to listen to recording.

    Danny really thought you captured the essence of me and of RUDE. He liked the bit about going back to childhood to find what one’s passion in adulthood is. He related to this, with jumping the back fence and making play with his brothers, as resilience to improvise in life.

    He also related to our conversation about not being perfect. He agrees it frees a person who is willing to not overthink things, and to just create. Maybe mistakes will be made but valuable lessons will be learned from simply trying. In other words it’s okay to be good enough.

    Thank you so much for the opportunity to share with you and your listeners. Our interview was good enough and touched my heart and soul.

    Best wishes

    Karen Ellis aka RUDE Girl

    Like

    • Thank you for your reply Adam as follows:

      Adam Murray Reply August 9, 2016 at 1:31 pm

      That is so great to hear Karen! I’m wrapped you enjoyed listening to it again, as did I, and to hear yours and Danny’s thoughts. Your feedback is appreciated 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Jacqui for commenting on Adam’s interview with me. Your heartfelt words are inspiring.

    Jacqui Wilson-Wilde Reply August 17, 2016 at 12:05 am

    Hi Adam I find the principles and philosophy behind your podcasts very interesting. I would like to commend you on the podcast with Karen Ellis.

    This touches on something that I’ve been discovering over a very long time now. We can live on very little. That by following this lifestyle we can reduce our damaging footprint on our warming planet. That we can live comfortably on so much less than is the usual habit of Australians in the 21C.

    I became aware of RUDE Record and their frugal lifestyle about a year ago. I have been trying to emulate their lifestyle in my own way. It was very interesting to hear Karen discuss in more detail their means of reducing, recycling and repairing.

    I think I would like to hear more from those people who don’t just talk the talk, but walk the talk.

    Thank you for an entertaining hour of down to earth conversation about frugal living. I’m ready to up my efforts to live my life that I like to describe as being a Eco warrior.

    Like

Leave a Reply

