Cashmere Capers

 

 

I’m pretty much a cheap date, you know… no alcohol, no meat at dinner, and then, you know, when I buy, go to Payless for shoes. When you don’t buy leather or silk or cashmere everything is much cheaper.
(Alexandra Paul)

The past few years I have really felt the cold, and have been on the search for woolen garments.  I am not too fussed about the condition of them.  Scavenger Style is my signature folly, so the more tattered the better.  And it gives me the opportunity to mend the garments.  This process enables me to make the items of clothing  my own.  I am currently watching The 100 and feeling very on trend.

I prefer to get my cashmere cheap or for free.  The cashmere pullover below is the same colour and style I rescued from the free textiles’ bin at the local charity shop.  It is an Ann Taylor brand.  It was in the free bin because it had lots of holes in it, however it appeared unworn because it was clean, and still had the designer tag attached to the label.

Paint ann-taylor-blue-cashmere-sweater-2
Prior to tackling the visible mending [inspired by boro and sashiko] the  pullover was placed in a plastic bag in the freezer for 24 hours.  This process kills any moth eggs.  It was then hand washed in cool water and wool wash liquid.  The excess water was squeezed out of the pullover, by wrapping it in a towel.  The pullover was then dried flat.   The instructions stated dry clean only which RUDE Girl totally ignored.  I do not dry clean anything and have not done so for 20 years or more.

Using African waxed cotton fabric [image below], I cut out circles and have handstitched these over the holes.  The holes were stitched closed too.  I was initially going to darn the holes but I decided to add some colour and pattern to the pullover this way instead. 

SAMSUNG

Circles cut from this fabric

 

My revamped pullover makes me smile.  It now has a story and is fun to wear.   It makes me happy that I have a piece of clothing that is warm, light and comfortable and it has cost me zilch.  And that I have rescued it from landfill fate, is the best feeling.

NB:  If you have not seen it already, there is a short video on RUDE’S Facebook page @ruderepair, of the pullover with holes,  prior to mending.

SAMSUNG

Beat The Man by sourcing your own charity cashmere sweater.  This will help to prevent The Man from trying to pull the wool over your eyes.

images

4 thoughts on “Cashmere Capers

    • Thank you Deb for your comment. My apologies for not replying sooner but i just found your comment. This jumper has been lovely to wear this winter. Light but very warm. I am a walking piece of art work, I have been told.

      Like

Leave a Reply

