Vested Interest

 

I always find it difficult to dress in between seasons, but I quite like putting T-shirts on with a vest over the top and another layer so you can peel them back as the day goes on. Poppy Delevingne

Layering is always a great way to look different and to keep your look younger. Basic tees, vest tops, jackets, leggings, shrugs, etc, can be mixed up to add spunk, variety and colour to your look. A good sense of mix ‘n’ match is required to make this look work. Tena Desae

When I came across this vest [image below] in the pile of textiles at a TIP SHOP [point of landfill] I knew why no other textile scavenger had rescued it.  However, it’s boring black blandness was not going to deter me from saving it from landfill.  I immediately knew that the vested interest I had in the rescue of this vest, was related to keeping my chest warm between the summer and winter months.

Snapshot 1 (31-03-2016 7-44 AM).jpg

After I soaked and washed it, I tried it on, and realised it was uncomfortable to wear.  The metal zip was heavy and scratchy.  The shape of the vest was boxy and flapped around my middle.

For these reasons, this padded vest has hung in my wardrobe for a couple of years.  With my recent de-cluttering, the time had come to either revamp it or donate it to a charity shop.

I did not want to devote too much time to the project. I decided that a quick revamp was in order. I gave it a little bit of thought, and with some inspiration from Pinterest, I had a light bulb moment.  Where did I store that fake fur collar?  I was hoping it had not been donated in my massive clean out!  PANIC.

Here is the video link to the revamp.

https://youtu.be/XXN3ebKI0ec

Below are some styling images of the revamped vest displayed on Jen, my mannequin.

Beat The Man, and as a priority, make sure your vested interests fit you well.

SAMSUNG

4 thoughts on “Vested Interest

  1. Karen, I love this! I just started wearing a vest similar to this one this past fall and I’m a convert. My back often feels the cold more than any other part of me and this is a great alternative to a coat. Great refashion. The faux fur collar is fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

