Tick Tock

quote-antique-clockswilliam-baldwin-124-98-09

 

William Baldwin is spot on.  It is definitely time for our Ansonia to have a service.  It does not keep time well and after a few days it starts speeding up.  It has probably never been serviced.

RUDE Girl’s Ansonia was purchased very cheaply way down south in New Zealand.  In Melbourne, the price of an Ansonia in similar condition was double the price I paid, if not a bit more.  Some Ansonia clocks were triple the price depending on condition!!

The song in the video below,  My Grandfather’s Clock by Burl Ives was a song my father used to sing to me as a child.

Make the most of your days, as Father Time will always Beat the Man!

 

3 thoughts on “Tick Tock

  1. Such a beautiful clock. I have many clocks, some inherited, some new and cheap. Everyone in the house complained about too much different ticking. So I don’t wind up some and don’t replace some batteries!! Working or not they’re staying where they are! I also have a lovely barometer, £5 charity shop find. I decided to stick to just one. Nice thought provoking post, thanks Karen.

    Like

  2. Beautiful clock! I’ve never seen one like that. I am somewhat obsessed with clocks recently. I like vintage alarm clocks, mantle clocks and wall clocks similar to yours here. Have been on the hunt for an old one for our dining room to replace one that we used to have but nothing’s jumped out at me lately. I don’t understand why more people don’t have clocks. I often go to houses and don’t see ANY clocks minus the ones on the microwave or stove. A little sad. I love the chiming and the ticking. It’s soothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you @Restyle4Life. Please let me know if you ever come across any Ansonia clocks as they were very common, and shipped out in great numbers from the USA.

      Yes, now that you have mentioned it, many people do not have clocks in their homes and/or wear watches. They have their mobile/cell phones to tell time, for stop watches, for alarms.

      We have a clock in nearly every room of the house. We have our wrist watches for working and going out. And we have a couple of spare alarm clocks just for backup.

      I hope you come across a beautiful clock that is suited to your dining room.

      Like

Leave a Reply

