Weave Waste

A Navajo blanket weaver. 1905. Photo by Edward S. Curits. Source – National Anthropological Archives.

“You see, when weaving a blanket, an Indian woman leaves a flaw in the weaving of that blanket to let the soul out”  Martha Graham ~ Dancer / Choreographer

This photo above, was RUDE Girl’s inspiration to give weaving a go.  I could make my own wooden loom but that takes time away from other things that I enjoy more.  I therefore decided to start my over and under weaving journey , by making a RUDE cardboard loom.  It measures 54 cm W x 115 cm L, which is the length of my studio table – photo below.

SAMSUNG

Recycled cardboard box upcycled into a weaving loom by RUDE Girl

Whilst it may look very rude, it gave me great satisfaction crafting it to my specifications from a cardboard box.  It did not take too long to make the loom.  It cost zilch.  And best of all, it reflects back at me what I am seeing in this blog post’s top photo.  Something makeshift, something so simple, yet effective,  and something that defies rampant consumerism and instant gratification.

SAMSUNG

An end of the cardboard loom showing the warp threads passing through the 2cm spaced slits. The slits we cut to a depth of 3cms.

I am not an avid knitter and have a large bag of wool to reuse.  I am going to use some of it in creating my fabric.  For what intended use?  I am not sure yet.  Actually, it’s just therapeutic being in the flow and not thinking too hard about what I am creating the fabric for.  It’s simply wonderful to be engaging in this craft for the very first time.

SAMSUNG

The recycled woollen yarn that has been collected over the years.

RUDE Boy was a bit amazed when he realised what I had been talking about doing for the past few weeks.  And that I had made my own loom from cardboard!  Gosh, it’s nothing new to many, I know, but to him it was.  He had never seen the likes of it.  At the end of the day, just before we went to sleep, he praised my first-time weaving efforts, and resourceful loom making skills.

Weaving Woollen Waste

“Each person has his own safe place – running, painting, swimming, fishing, weaving, gardening.  The activity itself is less important than the act of drawing on your own resources”  Barbara Gordon ~ Author

Beat The Man and weave your own path through life!

10 thoughts on “Weave Waste

    • Thanks Agy, great to get your comment. Not sure what the final product is going to be yet. And yes, my loom awesome! I used thick cardboard and some strong packaging tape on the ends and in parts so it should stand up to more weaving projects. It is large and would be awkward to transport but I do not have plans to take it anywhere. I have some smaller pieces of cardboard to make a loom that can fit in a bag.

      Like

    • Thank you rabidlittlehippy. A good holiday craft project for the kids but maybe with a smaller loom. The pressure is on now to deliver the final result! What will it be? I have no idea, truly!! But it’s lovely to see the colours and textures of the woollen yarn making fabric. I made the loom long so that I have enough fabric for a wall hanging, or a bag, or a couple of good size place mats, or a table runner…..help! Any ideas?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. As soon as I saw this I thought you could use what you produce to make the sleeves for your denim jacket, it’s just the way my mind works. Brilliant idea to make your own loom, a truly traditional way of working.

    Like

    • Thank you Linda for your comment and praise. I really like your idea and will give it consideration. I had not thought of the weaved fabric for use as material for a garment. Brilliant suggestion, and I am inspired by how your mind works!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not usually give to envy but the way you put this together and started your project so quickly is amazing. I would really just love to see your progress because I’m struggling to learn this craft using various materials and styles. Therefore, I’m constantly looking for ideas and hints for this craft. So I’ll be watching.

    Like

    • Lovely to get your comment posted on our blog Jacqui. You made me smile with your reference to envy. It must be that circle of envy that we are all in because I certainly envy your craft and weaving prowess. I guess, as you mentioned elsewhere, I do have a strong will towards resourcefulness. Finding a way to do something that may be a little out of the box [pun intended] is what i am all about. I am not keen on following ‘set in concrete’ ways of doing things.

      I hope that I can continue to provide weirdo weaving ideas. I really hope I will be able to finish whatever it is I am weaving. It has come to a bit of a standstill, only because I take on so many other projects. I am about to write today’s blog post on one of those projects.

      You also asked me how I get my housework done with all my online and RUDE commitments. Well, like you, over the years I have developed a pretty good system. It is just the two of us at home. We are organised and share the chores. I am not as house proud as i used to be, and can shut my eyes to dust and untidiness for a time. This frees me up to do my writing, social commentary, activism, crafting and sewing.

      The difficulty I find, is that I love to write and create videos. These hobbies compete with my other handcraft hobbies. I oftentimes feel torn, like there is not enough time for everything I want to achieve. And I try to do it all which keeps me away from reading books and gardening. I grow herbs but do not have the time to plant and maintain a vegetable garden.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Relish for Repair | Rude Record

Leave a Reply

