RUDE Girl’s Pretty Petticoats

index

From the 1960s TV sitcom Petticoat Junction

Many an irish property was increased by the lace of a daughter’s petticoat ~ Proverb

RUDE girl recently had a post come into her Facebook news feed with photo of a pretty blue petticoat.  The caption read, Who remembers this?

I remember shopping in the 1970s for my first bras and petticoats to match.  Three of each in pretty pastel colours.  I have always had a petticoat or two in my wardrobe.  A couple of half slips in my lingerie drawer.  And my vintage tulle petticoats on a clothes rack in the spare room.

In the last decade since rescuing clothing from landfill fate, I have managed to save petticoats as well.  All have been my size just different lengths.  Most are made in Australia. 

And yes, I wear petticoats with dresses, half slips with skirts and tulle petticoats for fancy dress parties or with after-five frocks.

I have curated an on-line blog post exhibition of my petticoats below.  And here is the link to my most popular YouTube video featuring my tulle petticoats and a little story about them.  Enjoy!

https://youtu.be/jUkOMICxCLI

SAMSUNG

A1 White Nylon Petticoat

SAMSUNG

A1 White nylon petticoat ~ lace top half

SAMSUNG

A2 Vintage pink petticoat

SAMSUNG

A2 Top section of vintage pink petticoat

SAMSUNG

A2 Bottom of vintage pink petticoat

SAMSUNG

A3 Target brand vintage petticoat [maxi] made in Australia.

SAMSUNG

A3 Top section of vintage Target petticoat

SAMSUNG

A4 Designer Fleur Wood petticoat [or nightslip] $1 AUD in a charity shop

SAMSUNG

A5 Chelsea design made in Australia maxi black petticoat

SAMSUNG

A6 Petticoat [nightslip]

SAMSUNG

A6 Top section

SAMSUNG

A7 Chocolate brown and pale pink lace petticoat which is a favourite to wear.

SAMSUNG

A8 Pale pink nylon petticoat with lace detail.

SAMSUNG

A8 This petticoat looks like it has been handmade or similar [not mass-produced]

SAMSUNG

A8 Bottom section with lace detailing

SAMSUNG

A9 White nylon petticoat with lace detailing.

SAMSUNG

A9 Top section of petticoat

SAMSUNG

A9 Bottom section of petticoat

SAMSUNG

A10 This petticoat is my all time fav and I wear it the most. It was bought years ago from a charity shop [yes, I remember which shop too!]. It may have cost $3 or $4 AUD back then but it has been well worth the few dollars spent.

SAMSUNG

A10 Lace top section

SAMSUNG

A10 Lace on bottom section

SAMSUNG

A11 Long sleeved stretch lace petticoat

8 thoughts on “RUDE Girl’s Pretty Petticoats

    • Thank you Yvonne for your comment as follows:

      Wonderful collection. I don’t wear dresses therefore don’t need petticoats but I do appreciate their delicate beauty. My favourite is the A2 pink vintage one.

      The petticoat A2 is the most vintage of all of them. It’s beautiful light rose pink. To think my wonderful collection of delicate beauty, as you say, mostly came from the textiles piles at tip shops. There is beauty in the wasted, if only it can be realised and rescued.

      Like

  1. Linda what a great tip about acting as a lining, I never thought about doing it that way. The brown and pink is lovely. And very practical for some of my shorter summer frocks that are off the shoulders a bit. The straps of this petticoat sit closer to where the arms start than the nook of the shoulders and neck.

    Thank you for your comment.

    Like

  2. Generally speaking I’m not a petticoat wearer but I do have a couple of very well worn silk ones in my wardrobe. I do remember when the big net petticoats were in vogue in the 50s but I was really too young to be into such things.
    I just love some of your vintage petticoats. They take me back to a time when they were very much part of any well dress young ladies wardrobe. I don’t think they’re worn quite so much now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jacqui for your insights. I wear a petticoat if a dress is not lined. But I agree, not many women would be wearing petticoats these days. I suppose they were also worn, when women wore wool frocks, to stop the fabric from itching the skin.

      Like

  3. I remember the TV show, Petticoat Junction, and the song too! My favorite is the A2 vintage pink petticoat. I agree with your words Karen, “There is beauty in the wasted.” Yes, there is – for those with eyes to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

