Rebel Retail the Pop Up Way

index

Maybe I was born to be a merchant, maybe it was fate. I don’t know about that. But I know this for sure: I loved retail from the very beginning.

Sam Walton

In the traditional modernist planning that created the suburbs, you put residential buildings in suburban neighborhoods, office spaces into brain parks and retail in shopping malls. But you fail to exploit the possibility of symbiosis or synthesis that way.

Bjarke Ingels

RUDE Girl was a retailer in a previous life.  It was a seven days per week and long hours news agency business.  There was the usual shop, lease, customers and home delivery service.

Those were the heady days of the mid 1980s when business interest rates were at 17 per cent.  You had to work very hard, and be committed and dedicated to your customers.

I was like Sam Walton in the quote above.  I loved retail, still do but I am no longer working in the sector.  The customer interaction was what always gave me joy.  I suppose I was born to serve with a smile.

I know the retail business can be very demanding, especially if it’s 7 days per week with long hours on your feet. 

The concept of pop up shops  must be attractive for many budding retailers.

If I was younger [not retired and busier than ever] I would consider opening up my own little pop up shops in my local area. These days I would sell recycled, upcycled and repaired stuff.  I would probably seriously consider upcycled clothing like Polly-Esther’s Vintage.

It was great to discover a young person giving it a go.  Brony shared with RUDE Girl what it’s like upcycling clothes, and selling them in pop up shops.  You can find out more on her wonderful blog The Gypsy and The Officer here

And this is a snippet of what Brony shared with RUDE Girl and yes she can sew!

Polly-Esther’s Vintage was launched in April 2010 in Yeppoon QLD.  My friend and I had collected original vintage and retro clothing over the years.  We thought it a great idea to open our own little shop, filling it to the brim with our treasures.   As time went on, and to be honest it was very slow and quiet tucked away in our Loft shop!  That’s how our upcycling and recycling of preloved clothes came to fruition!   We evolved from loving and selling original vintage, to hand making our own unique individual pieces using vintage fabrics and fabrics that were quirky and different!  It was amazing to see people embracing what we were doing and enjoying the ‘One Off’ pieces!

Photos below:  Polly-Esther’s Vintage unique re-creations

19705_848670605213847_4991165116918219945_n

11174852_848100091937565_1937782015199101675_n

10982244_849450645135843_5965827157189551536_n
Beat The Man, be a surprise and pop up someplace unexpected.

7 thoughts on “Rebel Retail the Pop Up Way

  1. There are 2 new pop-up stores in Ballan, both sellng vintage wares. 🙂 Love the idea f pop-up stores and of course, 2nd hand wares too. 🙂 That makes 2 op shops and 2 pop ups in town. I call that awesome!

    Like

    • Thank you for the inside info on the local pop up shops rabidlittlehippy. I love Ballan and must come up the highway again to visit. I used to attend a craft morning at the hospital op shop. But i realized I am more into sewing/refashioning/mending than arts & crafts. And I have not been back to Ballan.

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you come up to see the pop ups then I’d say a Friday or weekend. I’d love to meet you too. 😀 I believe also that we have a mutual friend in Ballan who almost shares a name with a movie star. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

