Better NOW than Never

“There is a next time for NOW because I think never is not all that sustainable”   Karen Ellis / Reuser of Unloved Discarded Excess

For Fashion Revolution Day today the 24 April, 2015 I decided to demonstrate that reasonable quality fast fashion from KMart can be sustainable.

There is so much talk about how fast fashion is not sustainable and RUDE agrees to a point.  The amount of fast fashion garments ending up in landfill is frightening.  And the consequences on people and planet of the fast fashion industry and our insatiable desire for new is alarming.

I do not plan to go into details here about the woes of our hunger to consume and spend.  And many of you will already be following the fast fashion industry’s shameful legacy on other forums.  You can Goggle all about the topic.

SAMSUNG

This good condition NOW garment by KMart in the above photo, was rescued from the point of landfill and was free.  It’s not just the responsibility of the fashion industry, consumers also have responsibility to care for their garments whether fast fashion or not, right?

When I spotted this gem in the pile of clothes at my local Tip Shop it was clean but looked sad  and devoid of human heart.  Maybe because it had been pieced together in an environment that cared little about uniqueness, and more about rapid turnover.

The hoodie was the same fabric and had a bright white thin cotton tape through it to tie around the neck.  The neck  had a 5 inch slit down the front and the edges of it had been overlocked/serged.  The back of the garment was too short, and riding up my back.

To make this garment sustainable it firstly had to be rescued from the dirty and smelly clothes around it.  But even one step before that it had to have someone like me recognise its potential.  Obviously nobody, before me had realised the value in this garment.  I initially, threw it to one side as I continued to scavenge for more interesting clothes.  But then I remembered that I was keen to demonstrate that unsustainable fast fashion can become sustainable with a bit of tender loving care and a mend and make new ethos.

This garment came home and was placed in a laundry bag, soaked overnight and then washed.  The laundry bag prevents piling and protects the fabric from too much agitation of the fibres.

The NOW tag was removed [I do not like tags on clothes].  In my mind, I created a new top with some uniqueness.  I was then responsible for the entire re-design of the garment.  My hands made the re-make happen.  I personalised this top for me, and it really reflects everything that RUDE [reuse of unloved discarded excess] stands for. 

RUDE will send this blog post to KMart to show the company it can also get more sustainable by encouraging the actions of its customers to upcycle its garments.  In other words people really do have the power to make companies like KMart think differently about their clothes and garment design.

Here is the video showcasing my new not NOW windcheater.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9bsDR8kmwU&feature=player_detailpage

Beat The Man and join the ReFashion of Fast Fashion Revolution!

2 thoughts on “Better NOW than Never

  1. Karen, thank you so much for the introduction. I enjoy second hand shopping and sewing. Love your blog and refashion projects. I have an Aussie connection and have visited several times – my mother lives in NSW and I have family in Melbourne and Adelaide as well.

    Like

  2. You’re welcome and thank you for posting here KJ. Always good to find a like-minded soul via our tribe. I am grateful for your feedback on our blog and my refashion projects. That’s awesome that you have connections with the Land of Oz.

    Like

Leave a Reply

