Let Your Frugal Fun Freak Flag Fly

White collar conservative flashin down the street, pointing that plastic finger at me, they all assume my kind will drop and die, but I’m gonna wave my freak flag high.     Jimi Hendrix

I don’t judge others. I say if you feel good with what you’re doing, let your freak flag fly.  Sarah Jessica Parker

SAMSUNG

The above article by Liz Graham could be on-line but I was not able to find it.  Therefore, I decided to post a photo of it.  It’s an inspirational article and compliments what RUDE is all about these days.

RUDE Girl is not your typical fun junkie.  My daughter owns this title.  Here she is in the photo below, with her fiance in the photo booth, at their double denim engagement party.

10492109_10152139705386653_312096054385433602_n
When I look at this photo the apple does not fall far from the tree.  I do remember that I was always the person encouraging my friends to go out for the night disco dancing.  We were always on the dance floor, and rarely had time to buy and consume alcoholic beverages.  We would pick the venues where we could get in for free, as after all, we were student nurses not earning much money.  These were the days of ‘hospital trained’ nurses  [slaves to a health system and a story for another post].  I guess frugal has always been a way of life for me.

There is no going out disco dancing these days [the era is over] but I have not stopped dancing.  And the article above [in the blue circle] is encouraging us all, to dance our butts off in 2015.  RUDE girl needs no encouragement to dance [check out the video below if you dare] but the validation, that the activity makes us more playful and fun, is all I need to shake my bon bon.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66S-2lFHuSg&x-yt-ts=1422411861&feature=player_detailpage&x-yt-cl=84924572

According to the article the sillier you are, the more authentic you are.  And get a load of this, people love fun, silly, authentic woman.   I certainly love myself more when I let my inner weirdo come out.  

I am much about encouraging myself to channel my childhood roots and unleash my creative side too [yellow circle in the article].  Growing up, I was always singing and dancing for the neighbourhood kids and staging little concerts in the backyard.  I am finding more and more that when I bring my creativity to the surface, I really do feel more inspired and vibrant.  It’s good for my psychological well being, that I no longer have adults telling me to sit down and behave myself.

At the moment I am enjoying directing and creating videos of any willing subjects.  It’s a fun, frugal and creative way to capture special moments and thoughts.  It takes a considerable amount of my time to create a modest home video.  However, it’s a wonderful experience gift to give, and there is minimal monetary cost.

Get out of your fearful rut and embrace a playful life recommends Miracles Now author Gabrielle Bernstein.

Beat The Man and embrace your frugal fun freak!  https://www.youtube.com/watch?x-yt-cl=84924572&v=YCAOZQkwvBg&x-yt-ts=1422411861&feature=player_detailpage

2 thoughts on “Let Your Frugal Fun Freak Flag Fly

  1. We just have to let it go! I recently met a fashion designer who told me that’s what I need to do too – just get silly and forget about all the rules 🙂

    Like

  2. Agatha, thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read there are others advising on the joys of freakin out. Let me know how you go embracing silly. You are certainly already breaking rules with refashioning, so should not be too hard for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

