Suffragette Scavenger Style

“And Mother, I love her dearly, but she flies into a panic whenever I mention women’s rights. As she sees it, it will be so much more difficult to marry me off if I am not only of a weak constitution but of a progressive mind as well.”
Gwenn Wright, Katherine’s Journal


“Women have a much better time than men in this world; there are far more things forbidden to them.”

Oscar Wilde

Last weekend I read about this new movie starring Helena Bonham Carter titled Suffragette.  RUDE Girl is  on-trend again without even REalising it! 

imagesPITCH PERFECT  Above :  Helena Bonham Carter starring in Suffragette

I have dressed for two weddings and a REunion in a kind-of 1920s style outfit.  At a gathering for marching girls I accessorised my frock with my green sash [won in 1973 for best Australian junior marching girl leader], and all of a sudden I was transformed into a suffragette.

My outfit below consisted of a sleeveless dress from a charity shop for $7.  It’s a Basque brand.  A nude coloured chiffon type fabric top from landfill.  It’s a Bardot brand.  A hat and Italian shoes from landfill.

Victorian Marching Hat Day Group Shot 29 Nov 2014Photo Above :  RUDE Girl 4th from left at a Marching Girls’ gathering


And in the video below this is how I wore the outfit to our daughter’s wedding.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=oRPKRvfcudk


I love this style of dress because it suits my no-nonsense nature.  My lean stature is enhanced.  I do not like to hide the shape of my body.  I am proud of it.  I would have made a splendid suffragette!

20141213_162056
Photo Above:  Our niece’s wedding at Portsea.  RUDE Boy, Danny wears pure wool trousers and matching vest $2 from a charity shop on Phillip Island, a pale pink shirt from landfill.  Brown vintage shoes $1 from a charity shop.

And back to the movie Suffragette, Meryl Streep plays Emmeline Pankhurst.

“Be militant in your own way! Those of you who can break windows, break them. Those of you who can still further attack the secret idol of property…do so. And my last word is to the Government: I incite this meeting to rebellion. Take me if you dare! (Emmeline Pankhurst, 1912)”
Fran Abrams, Freedom’s Cause: The Lives of the Suffragettes


Beat The Man and become a Suffragette!  

Leave a Reply

