Skimp on Stuff, Yes, Teeth No!

Tooth graphicI told my dentist my teeth are going yellow. He told me to wear a brown tie. ~ Rodney Dangerfield

RUDE Girl can relate to the above quote.  I too told my dentist my teeth were yellowing.  He told me that the whites of my eyes should near enough match the colour of my teeth – and they do, so it’s okay [I am now wondering if I have jaundice!]. 

Seriously, what I [Karen] appreciates about my dentist, is the fact that he could have made an easy $400 AUD but he didn’t push the bleach treatment.  He also mentioned something about how I would probably not want to look like a celebrity.  He was right there.

Anyways, this post is to clarify to any followers who think we just might be destitute and penniless is that we are not.  We are wealthy westerners who enjoy a privileged lifestyle albeit frugal out of choice.  A privileged lifestyle for us is not about overseas travel, fine dining restaurant experiences, expensive foreign cars, designer brand clothes and accessories et cetera.

For RUDE a privileged lifestyle means living in a democracy in Melbourne, Australia and having choices.  We choose to have private health insurance, which includes dental coverage.  We prefer to have this choice and pay for it, as opposed to spending up big on new stuff and/or experiences aimed at keeping up with The Joneses. 

The stuff we skimp on, is the materialistic and instant gratification stuff, that the mainstream want and have to have.  Many have not had the rude awakening afforded us.  We are grateful that we can go to the dentist and dental hygienist every 6 months.

We wear clothes scavenged from landfill.  This is part of our Beat The Man game where cost saved on buying brand new clothing goes towards funding many practical things, including our dental care.

As for white teeth this Christmas, Santa says it’s a want not a need.  So just grin and be happy!!

Video below:  Scavenger Style can be worn to your dental appointment
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=aqRC9G6Tqao

4 thoughts on “Skimp on Stuff, Yes, Teeth No!

  1. Thank you for your wise comment Mel. I agree that prevention is far better than cure and more cost effective too. We rarely have invasive treatments on our teeth because we rinse, brush and floss twice a day and have them checked and cleaned every 6 months. And yes, also RUDE agrees that there is a difference between being thrifty and being cheap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

