Suspended on a Line

At times the concrete is emphasized, sometimes the water, sometimes the sky or the rag with its more or less lightness and gayety [gaiety], and its color that transforms all other colors ~ From the book Suspended on a Line

SAMSUNGAbove:  Vintage cotton and threadbare blanket from the dog rug basket in a charity shop.  RUDE was inspired by the book Suspended on a Line to REscue this piece of textile, wash, soak and line dry it, on the Hills hoist clothesline outside in the Australian sun.

RUDE was at a landfill out of town a couple of days ago.  This landfill site has a large shed shop where stuff is REclaimed from going to landfill and then on-sold.

I, [Karen] hardly ever find anything at this shop worth blogging about.  But this time around I stumbled upon a coffee table book, just waiting for a textiles’ scavenger, me, to pick it up.  I realised immediately the beauty and inspiration awaiting for me within its pages.

At my regular landfill, I usually only pay 50 cents for a book or a couple of dollars for a bag of books.  For this book I paid $1.50.  I would have paid $5 as it’s glorious.  It’s the type of book I would have requested new as a Christmas gift.

Below:  The book is Suspended on a Line by Walter Battistessa

SAMSUNG

Amazon has the book for sale with a mediocre review here.  I do not agree that the book lacks variety in the clothing and settings presented.  As Furio Colombo highlights in the forward, Battistessa beautifully documents textiles in all their variations from across the globe.

SAMSUNG

When you move through the pages of this book you get a sense that the clothes and fabric coverings are treated with respect.   It beautifully portrays people maintaining and caring for their clothes and manchester.  There is air, sun, surf and wind that touches the fabrics.  The book breathes humanity, life and hope.

 

SAMSUNGAbove:  A pile of clothes REscued from landfill by RUDE, including ‘as new’ designer brands.  All garments are in good to excellent condition and half are made of natural fibres.  RUDE knows the special feeling she experiences from washing, soaking and suspending fabrics and garments on a line to dry or air out.

Below:  Handmade buntings from REcycled fabrics tied to the Hills hoist clothesline in RUDE’S backyard in Melbourne, Australia.

2014-11-05 15.47.28

2 thoughts on “Suspended on a Line

  1. I hope I get to send you this msg. I love your articles. Finding such a book in recyclables is a treasure Can I become part of “Rude’s backyard. Rainy here in Oregon (the green US State) If not then I will continue to enjoy your email newsletter. Thank you.

    Like

    • Thank you Susan for your comment. I am very grateful to know that you love RUDE’S weekly Friday articles. It is a pleasure to share the joy of our frugal lifestyle. We visualise all our blog followers gathering in our backyard at this time of year. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have a BBQ together. And to share with like-minded souls who have travelled to our doorstep from across the globe. My apologies for a tardy reply. I have been busy organising REcycled REsources for a handmade gift making workshop in the local community on 6 December. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

      Like

Leave a Reply

