Scavenger Saint

“Thrift is the really romantic thing; economy is more romantic than extravagance…thrift is poetic because it is creative; waste is unpoetic because it is waste…if a man could undertake to make use of all the things in his dustbin, he would be a broader genius than Shakespeare.”  G. K. Chesterton

red barina  This is the type and colour motor car my daughter drives

I [Karen] follow Richmond [Tigers] and Danny follows Collingwood [Magpies] two teams in the Australian Football League [AFL or Aussie Rules].  Aussie Rules is a fast and spectacular football style compared to many other football codes.  Spectacular, in my opinion, due to the speed and aerial leaps by players.  However, RUDE is not an avid supporter of any type of football and can take or leave watching the games.

I do however like to watch the entertainment at the AFL Grand Final.  Lionel Ritchie did a great performance and had me dancing on the ceiling.  But Meatloaf was ever after known, as low-grade minced meat after his performance [not worth posting here but you can watch it on Youtube].  I still do not know why the AFL uses overseas entertainers when there is such great talent in Australia.  This year Tom Jones the Welsh entertainer will be belting out a tune or three for the AFL Grand Final footy crowd.

RUDE’s daughter is a keen Saints’ [St Kilda] team supporter. The St Kilda Football Team is in the AFL. It’s team colours are red, white and black. Therefore I want to make her a Scavenger Saint throw rug in these team colours.  I have sourced woollen garments from landfill in these colours over the past year.  The wool has been fulled and has been cut up into 61/2 inch squares.  I have commenced the process of joining the squares together with a running stitch. The MCC initials on the grey/black patch stand for the Melbourne Cricket Club.  This wool fabric patch came from a bomber jacket in the free bin of a local charity shop. The backing fabric is from a black QS bedsheet made of cotton and sourced from the point of landfill.  It appears as new.  I will bind the two pieces together with strips of this sheeting fabric.

It’s a patchwork craft project in progress with the aim of getting it finished for Christmas.  I gather my daughter may not need to keep her legs warm at football games now, however when she’s much older she may welcome the warm sentiment.  She has a red coloured motor car and may even choose to keep it there as a picnic rug.

DSC04458 DSC04460 DSC04463 DSC04464DSC04441 DSC04442

11 thoughts on “Scavenger Saint

  1. Thanks Agy for the positive feedback and Sheri for the like. We have our Football Grand Final tomorrow. It, like the Melbourne Cup Horse Race stops our nation tomorrow. A Melbourne and Sydney team are playing each other. I will be barracking [rooting] for the Melbourne team. You can check out Aussie Rules football style on Youtube. RUDE is going to a relative’s place in the country to watch the game on the TV and enjoy lunch together.

    Like

  2. Fabulous job Karen, I love the black and red and the white patches sets them off. The stitching you used is complementary too. Did you use a machine to stitch the patches together first and then a running stitch?

    I have gathered quite a few pure wool jumpers together and will eventually make my rug too. I notice that you felted your jumpers before cutting out the squares so I will follow your method as I was in two minds as to which to do first, cut out or felt.
    Cheers Yvonne

    Like

  3. Fabulous job Karen, I love the black and red and the white patches sets them off. The stitching you used is complementary too. Did you use a machine to stitch the patches together first and then a running stitch?

    I have gathered quite a few pure wool jumpers together and will eventually make my rug too. I notice that you felted your jumpers before cutting out the squares so I will follow your method as I was in two minds as to which to do first, cut out or felt.
    Cheers Yvonne

    Like

    • Thanks Yvonne for your comment and interest. I did the running stitch first and then machine stitched. Yes, I fulled the recycled woollen garments first. Why? Fulling is not an exact science and you can end up with all sorts of different thicknesses of wool fabric. This would not have been ideal for what I am REcreating with this throw rug.

      Lovely to hear from you. Good luck with your rug!

      Karen

      Like

      • Good to hear back from you Karen. I’m enjoying reading the posts on your RUDE blog and checking out some of the references.
        Cheers Yvonne

        Like

      • Hi there Yvonne, I am thrilled to know you are reading RUDE’s posts. Please don’t be shy, I would love you to comment if something takes your interest. My throw rug has been backed with black cotton sheeting, recycled from landfill of course. I am about to hand stitch this to the patchwork wool front [cotton and needles gifted to me by a Bowerbird]. Wish me luck as I am new to this and hope it does not pucker up.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Scrap Woollen Quilt | Rude Record

Leave a Reply

