Poncho Play

It’s impossible to be unhappy while wearing a poncho! ~ Noel Fielding /Comedian

I [Karen] have a love hate relationship with ponchos, probably because I am a practical Capricorn.  It’s just difficult to do the housework, tend to the garden, go to the toilet, whatever, in a poncho.  And I never wore one in the 70s when it was on trend to do so, because I prefer to be an individual, and not on trend in any decade.

In the 80s I did not do big hair.  Not that I could because my hair is fine. Watching ABCs Grumpy folk RElive the 80s, I am now very pleased I have fine hair.  Looking back at my hairstyle in photos from the 80s, is not too REvealing of this awful fashion decade.  My children in these photos give my age away and not my hairstyle, thank goodness.

But I have always known what Noel Fielding the surreal humourist quoted above [and depicts in the 2nd video below] that there is something about wearing a poncho that makes you want to play. Funny discovery as I write this blog post, but my video of my REfashioned poncho [1st video below] is probably surreal humour.

As with satire, my humour is intended to expose particular norms and preconceptions rather than as pure entertainment.  It’s a way here to spread the message, that someone well over 50 years of age, can wear a child’s crochetted poncho as a skirt, and be delightfully happy [and video it!  Now that’s surreal].  And to promote that the poncho came from the point of landfill and was REvamped by me, certainly exposes preconceptions and norms about fashion such as who designs it, where it comes from and who should wear it.

Embrace Scavenger Style and beat the fast fashion trend  ~ Karen Ellis / Surreal Humourist

7 thoughts on “Poncho Play

  1. This post just reminded me of the poncho I had as a child. My dad bought it for me from a woman who was crocheting them on the train. (He was a conductor) Mine was huge though, and weighed about 10 pounds (it seemed) but it came in handy in Wisconsin! LOL

    Like

    • Thanks Mary for your comment and for sharing a personal story. Can you remember what colour? It must have been wool as it was heavy. How lovely your Dad bought you a poncho. I was happy to read over at your blog that you had a good holiday.

      Like

  2. Thanks Mary for your comment and for sharing a personal story. Can you remember what colour? It must have been wool as it was heavy. How lovely your Dad bougth you a poncho. I was happy to read over at your blog that you had a lovely holiday.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your encouraging reply. I am glad you will be seeking out a poncho to work your magic. I am planning to wear this to a Wattle [hippy] Festival this Sunday. Wattle is a yellow flower native to Australia. The mustard colour poncho skirt will be perfect with a khaki green top.

      Like

    • Thanks for your comment Janine. I think that’s why on Marching Girls Facebook group we ‘get’ and can laugh at each other. You appreciate surreal humour like me. I could think of no better person to do a duo poncho skit with than you, serious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

